Skip to content

The Pitfalls of Forced Positivity

January 3, 2015
This was attributed on Facebook to someone called fudgecrumpet. *shrug*

This was attributed on Facebook to someone called fudgecrumpet. *shrug*

Two days ago I was on a plane, returning home after spending the holidays with my family in Ontario. I was feeling fairly sombre; sitting with my own thoughts for hours in the discomfort of a budget airline seat tends to encourage melancholy rumination, and the last couple of years have brought me plenty of fodder for that. At a certain point somewhere over Saskatchewan I decided to be happy. Not forever, because that’s impossible, but for a little while, to break up the tedium. So I closed my eyes, leaned back, and let myself fully immerse in the sorrow that had been hanging out at the edges of my thoughts all day. A few minutes later I was enveloped in the warm glow of something approaching euphoria.

Does that seem backwards? It isn’t. Does it seem like I’m about to sell you the One Simple Weird Trick for finding happiness? I’m not. Partly because I only know what works for me, and I’m not even an expert at that yet. Partly because there’s nothing simple about any of this. But mostly because trying to foist happiness on you is likely to make you feel even worse, and I don’t want to do that to you.

Image by John Packman

Image by John Packman

Our culture is obsessed with positivity. Self-help books selling happiness quick-fixes or law-of-attraction schemes have been around for years. The entire concept of commercial advertising is built around pointing out gaps in our happiness and then offering to fill them. Today we have social media to amplify the furore as it does best, via feelgoody quotation memes of questionable provenance and superficial insight.

Happiness does feel good, of course, and pain feels bad, so it’s understandable that we would try our best to run towards one and away from the other. And there is nothing wrong with a bit of hedonism from time to time. But the endless pursuit of gratification and the insistence on constant optimism does a pretty good job of one thing only, and that is making everyone feel miserable.

This is especially true for people who have been through real trauma. Though I can’t speak for everyone, I think it’s safe to say that telling a person who is experiencing acute emotional distress to look on the bright side is pretty obnoxiously ineffective. And though some people might never think of saying such a thing directly, this is exactly what positivity culture does – it makes us ashamed when we are unable to bounce back quickly, and leaves us feeling alienated and voiceless. No matter how hard we try, most of us cannot coerce ourselves into emotional stability through sheer will, and the fear of being shunned for our negativity compounds the anguish.

Image by John Packman

Image by John Packman

Even for those who are dealing with milder forms of distress, forced positivity does not help, at least not for long. You might be able to talk yourself (or eat, drink, shop, socialize, copulate, exercise, etc.) into bliss for a while, but the inevitable crash later on can leave you feeling even worse about yourself – because, since the positive self-talk seemed to work at first, it must be a failing on your own part that you couldn’t sustain it, right? The fact is, external pressures and expectations disrupt performance in many scenarios, and it is no different with happiness. You can’t find lasting fulfillment by performing joy for others’ benefit. And nobody can avoid pain forever.

I do in fact believe that it is possible to cultivate greater peace and contentment in life. I just think that most of us try to go about it exactly backwards. I believe that genuine, enduring happiness means fully accepting that you can’t always be happy. Fully accepting. Knowing something objectively and fully accepting it aren’t the same thing. We all know that pain is an unavoidable part of life, yet we all spend vast amounts of energy trying to escape it. We fear it because we don’t know how to handle it, and – here’s the kicker – this fear means we can’t even really enjoy the good times, because we worry about how much it will hurt when our luck turns.

When you have the tools to cope with negative emotions, that fear is diminished, and you can allow yourself to feel true enjoyment. You can’t acquire those tools by running away from pain.

So how do you acquire them? As I said before, I’m not an expert. I can only share what works for me, and I am still learning. I have not by any means reached the point where I can maintain Zen-like equanimity through trauma and major stress. I don’t know if I ever will – but I do believe I can train my brain to be happier overall.

For me, certain meditation techniques work well, though it has taken me a long time to get there. I’ve stopped feeling inadequate when I can’t empty my mind, and stopped trying to simply replace bad thoughts with good ones. Instead, when I’m plagued by difficult emotions, I invite them in and allow myself to experience them deeply. I look them full in the face. Imagine putting your hand into near-scalding water and then sort of dispassionately taking note of how the sensations feel on your skin – it’s a bit like that. Most of the time, this causes the emotions to dissipate.

Once that’s done, I have space to let the good stuff in. I remind myself that my brain has the ability to produce chemical reactions on a neurological level that cause sensations of happiness, regardless of outside stimuli. I let it do that. Sometimes it only works a little bit. The level of near-euphoria that I described above doesn’t always happen – in fact, that’s the first time since my brother’s death that I was able to get there. I don’t try to push it. Euphoria or not, I always feel better afterwards. And the more I do this, the more I feel calm and balanced from day to day.

We aren’t taught how to cope with strong emotions, despite the fact that it is unquestionably one of the most important life skills. That’s because there are so few people who would even know what to teach. We fill the knowledge void instead with vapid truisms and short-term gratification. I would like to see social media amplify a different kind of voice. I’d like to see more honesty about struggles and sadness. I would like to learn effective coping techniques from people who have had different experiences from mine. I am not afraid of my pain, or of yours.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Vignola permalink
    January 4, 2015 9:02 pm

    What works for me is an immense feeling of gratitude. It comes to me especially when I’m skiing and feeling so grateful to have the ability to be out in minus centigrade weather, while sweating and breathing in oxygen-rich, pure mountain air. Incredible gratitude. I’m working on breathing into the heart chakra while feeling this gratitude, and it’s getting me out of my stressful ‘fight or flight syndrome’ and, hopefully, helping me combat the intermittent insomnia which plagues me and impacts my otherwise healthy lifestyle! Thanks for the opportunity to reflect and share. (I’m not sure if comments show up on FB but I hope not!)

    • January 5, 2015 11:21 am

      Thanks for your perspective, Sue. Reading your comment caused me to reflect on my own experience of gratitude. I feel grateful often, and try to make a conscious effort to remember what I’m grateful for when going through difficult times, but although I find it a worthy exercise for other reasons, I actually find that gratitude is not an effective vehicle to happiness for me. I’ll have to spend some time thinking about why that might be.

      Not to worry – comments you post here don’t show up on FB. :)

  2. g2-5bba245eb6db01d36e28de6648a6336a permalink
    March 12, 2015 4:00 am

    Have you read “Smile or Die: How Positive Thinking Fooled America and the World ” by Barbara Ehrenreich ?

    The myth of being positive is killing people.

    I embrace my negativity and move on to enjoy my life, the universe is random and uncaring the only thing I can really do is try to make someone else’s day a bit happier when i can

    • March 12, 2015 12:44 pm

      No, I haven’t, but thank you for the recommendation.

Comments are moderated before they appear. Insults, personal attacks and other disrespectful comments will be deleted. Debate is welcome, but keep it civil.

