Skip to content

Reblogged: If you can’t write, what rights do you really have?: Literacy and the exercising of personal rights

October 22, 2013

From Linguistic Pulse, some fantastic insights into how literacy privilege interplays with socioeconomic status.

linguistic pulse

This past spring, I suffered a relatively minor medical emergency having to have emergency surgery to remove my appendix. I recovered quickly and without complication thanks to the excellent medical staff who attended to me 24 hours a day for a few days as well as my support system, including my wife who stayed with me constantly and my friends and colleagues who covered for and accommodated me while I was unable to go to work (and even brought me meals!).

View original post 1,731 more words

No comments yet

Comments are moderated before they appear. Insults, personal attacks and other disrespectful comments will be deleted. Debate is welcome, but keep it civil.

