Skip to content

Happy (belated) anniversary, little blog

July 4, 2010

It’s been a year (ish (so I’m not very prompt, so what)) since I decided to share my truth (albeit in a semi-secretive way) with anyone who might stumble across this blog. Many stumblers have in fact stumbled here – WordPress tells me so – though only one has been brave enough to post comments (and this is probably an appropriate time to give a shout out to my Official Blog Commenter: Cheers to you, Blair! *waves*). A couple of other people have divulged in slightly sheepish tones that they found the link on Facebook. I don’t actually know if people are more embarrassed at the prospect of having to talk about sexuality, or afraid that I’ll call them out for creeping my profile. Don’t worry, people! I creep your profiles too!

Anyway, I’ve come a long way in the last year. I’ve mostly stopped worrying what people will think. I’ve put myself out there. Although I’m still getting used to holding my girlfriend’s hand in public, I’m feeling more confident and open every day. And although I probably still blush a bit when I introduce her to people, I’m kind of enjoying the ambiguity that happens where I’m wondering if people are wondering if I mean girlfriend when I say “girlfriend” (as opposed to girl (pause) friend). Not knowing who has visited this blog and who hasn’t lends a whole other facet to the experience, too. This is what it’s like to live and breathe in the grey area.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Blair permalink
    July 7, 2010 8:30 am

    Shout out received, and as always I am very proud of you :)

  2. Renee permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:03 am

    Wonderful blog, Ms. C.! I’ve somehow lost (or gained) an hour getting caught up on the blog-year I’d missed. Beautiful writing and insights. I look forward to more.

  3. Jenny Rae permalink
    August 25, 2010 9:56 pm

    Thank you for sharing your world. I just found your blog and love love love your musings and your personal story. I’d love to have a french tea sometime.

  4. September 5, 2010 8:02 pm

    We should definitely have a French tea! It’s been far too long. Maybe when Renée comes to visit in October?

  5. **Jayme permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:57 am

    Im a grateful stumbler myself and like Renee have thoroughly lost myself in an hour of fantastic writing.

    Blair’s comments also have been contemplated and enjoyed!

    A forum for sharing and maybe a bit of creeping opens our minds to others in a light we haven’t appreciated before.

    My congratulations on your first year of blogging Chandra! I’m a bit late, but glad I found it!

  6. November 5, 2012 9:09 pm

    stumbled upon your blog!! too..excited to read more! check out mine.. blog.daniellesonnenberg.com if you want

    • November 18, 2012 7:15 pm

      Hi Danielle, and thanks for stumbling! I’ll definitely check out your blog too.

Comments are moderated before they appear. Insults, personal attacks and other disrespectful comments will be deleted. Debate is welcome, but keep it civil.

