Skip to content

Not such a bright idea

October 4, 2009

uglyI have a confession to make.

You know those eco-friendly light bulbs? The spirally ones that are supposed to help us save the planet by vastly reducing energy consumption while keeping our hydro bills down to a minimum?

I hate them.

I hate them! They’re so ugly. The light they give off is like the worst kind of institutional fluorescent glare, only put through an ugly-filter that increases their milky blue coma-inducing nastiness by a factor of 10. They make my eyes go numb. I really hate them.

I’m probably supposed to feel bad about this. What would David Suzuki think? I’m probably supposed to graciously set aside my shallow aesthetic concerns in favour of sustainability, environmental responsibility, peace, love, good vibes, and harmony with all living things.

Pfff. I hate them, I can’t help it. Normally I’m all in favour of environmentally sound practices, such as buying locally and eschewing cars and wandering the halls of my workplace looking for a recycling bin in which to deposit my (organic, thank you) soup can.

But I think I have to draw the line here. I will not live in a house lit up like a prison hospital. Honestly, light that ugly can’t be good for you. I bet in twenty years’ time they’ll be linking it to waves of chronic depression and increases in suicidal thoughts. Hopefully by then someone will have come up with a better version that makes the paint on your walls actually look like the colour it’s supposed to be, and doesn’t suck the energy directly out of the top of your head the moment you flick on the light switch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Blair permalink
    November 18, 2009 8:54 am

    Well if it makes you feel any better, you are not alone. Most people I know think the same about them as you do.

    But I like them. Some leftover strand of Zoid-DNA is in me somewhere. Probably from the water

  2. September 18, 2010 4:08 pm

    ummm you rock…Chandra..

Comments are moderated before they appear. Insults, personal attacks and other disrespectful comments will be deleted. Debate is welcome, but keep it civil.

